Qatar Football Association Honors Top Performers: Afif, Martins, and Jaber Shine at QFA Awards

Qatar Football Association Honors Top Performers: Afif, Martins, and Jaber Shine at QFA Awards

Alkass Digital

At the Qatar Football Association – QFA Awards ceremony for the 2023-2024 Season, Al Sadd's Akram Afif was honored as the Best Player, while Al Gharafa's Pedro Martins was recognized as the Best Coach. The event, held at the Qatar National Convention Center, also saw former QFA President H E Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa bin Ahmed Al Thani receiving the Order of Achievement award.

Late national coach Captain Saeed Al Misnad was posthumously awarded the Order of Achievement for his remarkable contributions to local clubs and national teams. Additionally, Al Arabi’s Jassim Jaber was named the Best U-23 Player for his outstanding performance in the past season.

These awards were based on players' performances in the top-tier Qatar Stars League, which was known as the Expo Stars League (ESL) in the previous season, with Al Sadd emerging as champions. Afif's stellar performance played a pivotal role in Al Sadd's title victory, finishing as the league's top scorer with 26 goals and 11 assists.

Acknowledging his achievement, Afif attributed his success to the collective effort of his team and support staff. Pedro Martins, who guided Al Gharafa to third place in the ESL, expressed his gratitude amidst tough competition in the league.

Jaber's influential role in Al Arabi’s campaign earned him the Best U-23 Player award. The selection process involved football officials, coaches, and media representatives.

The ceremony also honored referees Taleb Salem, Salman Falahi, Saoud Ahmed, and Khamis Al Marri as the season's Best Referees. Additionally, Qatar national team players received recognition from various companies and supporters, including QIIB, Qatar Airways, Ooredoo, and Qatar National Bank.

Notably, the event celebrated Al Annabi's triumph in winning the AFC Asian Cup for the second consecutive time, with players like Almoez Ali, Meshaal Barshim, Abdulaziz Hatem, and Mohammed Waad participating in the ceremony.