Husain Al Musallam Elected FINA President in Doha

The 2021 FINA General Congress took place in Doha today, where members discussed activities since the previous General Congress in 2019, as well as electing new members.

The congress approved the upcoming budget, before moving onto the elections. 

Husain Al Musallam (Kuwait) was elected as the new FINA President, before Sam Ramsamy (South Africa), Juan Carlos Orihuela (Paraguay), Zhou Jihong (China), Paolo Barelli (Italy), Matthew Dunn (Australia) were announced as the five Vice-Presidents.

Sam Ramsamy (South Africa) was elected as FINA's First Vice-President, with Matthew Dunn (Australia) elected as Second Vice-President.

Dale Neuburger (USA) was appointed as Treasurer, before Jan Exner (Czech Republic), Debendranath Sarangi (India) and Gustavo Mastroianni Bernasconi (Uruguay) were elected to the FINA Audit Committee. 

Jean Léon Noël Gay (Switzerland), Abdon Deguenon (Benin), Rashid Alanezi (Kuwait), William J. Hybl (South Africa) and Chris Fydler (Australia) were elected to the FINA Ethics Panel. 

119 National Federations, represented by 189 delegates attended the Congress in person in Doha, while another 202 delegates from 102 National Federations followed the programme via a live stream, cast their vote through a secure online system.

Related Posts: